This weekend Salford travel to Halifax in their third Qualifiers fixture of 2018 however it’s not the first trip to the MBi Shay in this competition.
We take a look back to 2015 when the Red Devils earned a 50-28 victory over Fax in a back-and-forth game, almost three years to the day of Sunday’s fixture.
In a high-scoring affair, three Red Devils managed to cross for hat-tricks with Niall Evalds, Ben Jones-Bishop and Greg Johnson all notching three tries apiece. Josh Griffin and Michael Dobson shared kicking duties kicking four and three goals, respectively.
Dobson created an opening in the early stages to send Evalds over to get the scoring underway before Johnson broke down the left-hand to further the Red Devils lead. Another Evalds try shortly after continued Salford’s dominance.
Halifax refused to lie down and managed to get themselves on the scoresheet through Dane Manning. However, the hosts would go into the break trailing 6-22 after Johnson scored his second before fellow winger Jones-Bishop opened his account for the afternoon.
George Griffin had a try disallowed just after the restart and Halifax capitalised as Scott Murrell collected his own kick to score. However, almost immediately, Evalds managed to scoop up a loose ball and race fifty metres to be the first Red Devil to complete their hat-trick.
The hosts again hit back as Jacob Fairbank went under the posts on the back of a break from Connor Robinson but three consecutive tries from Salford killed any hopes of a Fax comeback.
Jones-Bishop went the length of the field before Johnson followed up with another long-range try for his third. Jones-Bishop also notched his hat-trick in the closing stages on a rampant afternoon in attack for the Red Devils. Adam Tangata did grab a late consolation for Halifax.
The victory marked Salford’s third win in their opening four games of the 2015 Qualifiers after wins against Wakefield Trinity and Leigh Centurions.
The teams that day:
Halifax: Martin, Heaton, Eccleston, Tyrer, Saltonstall; C. Robinson, Murrell; Tangata, Kaye, Calahane, Moore, Manning, Fairbank.
Interchanges: Bracek, Maneely, A. Robinson, Ambler.
Salford: Evalds, Jones-Bishop, Thornley, J. Griffin, Johnson; Lee, Dobson; Taylor, Tomkins, G. Griffin, Hansen, Maitua, Paterson.
Interchanges: Krasniqi, Forster, J. Walne, Hood.

Despite knocking Wakefield out of the Challenge Cup the Red Devils haven’t had much luck against Trinity this season in the league however it was a different story when they visited the The Salford Stadium in 2016.
Salford managed to hold a slender lead at half-time but Ian Watson’s men crossed three times inside five second half minutes to inflict Wakefield’s second defeat in just nine games.
Niall Evalds opened the scoring for the Red Devils but his effort was soon cancelled out Anthony Tupou. Trinity were given two sin-bins inside the space of five minutes at the end of the first half as Danny Kirkmond was sent for ten for a blatant trip before Ben Jones-Bishop was also given a yellow card for pulling down Evalds as he chased a kick.
Salford took advantage and went into the break ahead thanks to a Ryan Lannon try, which came between the sin-bins, giving the hosts a six-point lead. But, it was a destructive second-half performance from Watson’s side which saw them end Wakefield’s four-game unbeaten run.
Mark Flanagan managed to force his way over early in the second half following the return of Kirkmond before Lannon grabbed his second of the game to put the Red Devils in the ascendancy.
The Red Devils made it three tries inside five minutes when Robert Lui crossed on the back of a neat ball from Adam Walne. Both George Griffin and Junior Sa’u found themselves on the scoresheet in the dying stages while Jones-Bishop grabbed a consolation for the visitors.
Following the victory Watson was very complimentary of double try-scorer Lannon who had broken into the team in recent weeks hailing his performance and in particular praising his ability to scare Wakefield’s bigger men with his quick feet and ability to find space.
The team that day: O’Brien, Evalds, Jones, Sa’u, Vidot; Lui, Dobson; Kopczak, Tomkins, Griffin, Murdoch-Masila, Hauraki, Flanagan. Interchanges: Lannon, Walne, Bibby, Joseph.