The RFL have announced changes to the laws of the game for the 2017 Betfred Super League season.
The changes have been devised by the RFL Laws Committee, a group with game-wide representations and relate to scrums, goal line drop outs, 20 metre restarts, 40/20 kicks and markers.
RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood, who chairs the Laws Committee, said: “The changes will allow more exciting and continuous play which will enhance the match day experience for players, spectators, coaches and TV viewers.
 “The Laws Committee took into consideration views from across the game and I am sure the changes will be well received by everyone involved.”
Details of the changes are as follows:
Goal Line Drop outs

20 metre restarts

40/20 restarts


The Red Devils open their 2017 campaign against Wigan Warriors on the 11th February. Tickets are available now at