Salford Red Devils’ Kriss Brining has been nominated for the Albert Goldthorpe Rookie of the Year, as published in today’s League Express.
Brining has impressed this season for the Red Devils since signing from League One side York City Knights. The hooker has made 21 appearances for Salford in all competitions scoring four times while making a continuous impact as an interchange acting half-back.
Brining is looking to become the first Salford player to win the award, which is for players with less than 10 Super League appearances to their name before the start of the season.
He said: “Obviously, I’m delighted to be nominated for the award and it’s come following a relatively good season for me personally. It’s been a big step up since moving from York but I’m really enjoying it here at Salford.
“Results haven’t been going our way as of late but it’s still nice to get put forward for an award for my contributions to Salford’s season.
“There’s a lot of good young players on the shortlist who’ve all impressed this season so to be named among these other players is pleasing.
“I just want to finish the season strongly and hopefully help the lads get a few wins before the end of September.”
Kriss is on an eight-man shortlist along with Tom Davies (Wigan), Regan Grace (Saints), Liam Marshall (Wigan), Darnell McIntosh (Huddersfield), Danny Richardson (Saints), Danny Walker (Widnes) and Jack Walker (Leeds).
League Express Editor Martyn Sadler said: “All Rugby League supporters like to see the emergence of young stars in our sport and we are delighted to encourage the development of young players who are new in Super League by giving a medal whose prestige can be seen from the list of former winners.”
Previous winners of the award are Luke Burgess (2008), Sam Tomkins (2009), Liam Watts (2010), Jermaine McGillvary (2011), John Bateman (2012), Tom Lineham (2013), Joe Burgess (2014), Andre Savelio (2015), Max Jowitt (2016).